Light Chemical Peel Series Completed: Results + Lessons

Now that I have completed the 5 series Light Chemical Peel (read here for all related posts)…

I am pleased that I went through these 5 peels all spaced out by 2-4 weeks.  In retrospect, I only needed to hide from the public for about 10 of those days.

Now my skin feels extra smooth to the touch, and I’m getting lots of comments from others on my complexion.

In general, the fine lines all over my face have been reduced — from the marionette lines at the corners of my mouth to the lines around my eyes.  No one has mentioned any of this in particular and it’s not the easiest to pinpoint in a before/after photo, but what I have noticed is an overall, more youthful look.   Others are commenting on my overall look.

Some comments from others:

“Look at you, you are glowing!”

“Your skin looks a lot more even toned now, compared to your skin before the peel.”

“Your pores seem cleared out, and you no longer have any areas on your face that were prone to acne break outs.”

“Mom, everyone thinks you look too young to be my mom.”

I truly feel a weight lifted from my face.  It is lighter.  I guess my pores have been rebuilt at the cellular level!   My skin does feel extra smooth, as I mentioned above — but say again for enhancement.

And, I was carded at the grocery store 2 times this past week… 🙂

Before the first peel:

Before the first peel, my face was noticeably more spotty from age and sun damage and I had more fine wrinkle lines.  I have learned in retrospect that my pores were significantly clogged too.

During my next office visit with Dr. Macdonald I will get him to take an “after” photo in the same lighting and setting as the “before” photos so that you can get the most visible effect of the changes.

Overall lesson about my skin:

It has given me better health habits in terms of the sun now that I know I have rebuilt many of my skin cells deep down.  I want to keep the healthy cells.  Now, I am more aware than ever before of the damage of the sun on the skin, especially my face.

I know how crucial sunscreen is on a daily basis, year round even if you are simply driving in the car (and extra sunscreen for direct sun, plus a hat!)

I feel healthier that the skin layers below the surface have been repaired and the dead cells have been eaten away, making way for the new and existing cells to produce more collagen and elastin.

I have learned that many of the spots on my skin are from my genetics and not necessarily sun spots that can be corrected with a peel.  I see a similar look on my dad’s skin.

Since there are certain limitations with the peel-series treatment, Dr. Macdonald’s office offers other alternative solutions to the PCA Light Chemical Peel that I had:

  • Deeper chemical peel (see the details here)
  • PhotoFacial – laser procedure that is more aggressive than a peel.  Reduces sun damage, evens out pigmentation irregularities, removes vascular and pigmented lesions, and decreases redness from rosacea.
  • Continue the peel with Hydroquinone / Retinol A (HQRA) at home

Ongoing treatment to maintain my skin:

I will follow up my chemical peel treatments now with HQRA Cream in-home treatment by Neutraderm.  I apply it every other night before bed.  It will continue the peel benefits (bleaching dark spots, reducing fine lines, and improving cells), while exfoliating only a minimal amount.

Chemical Peel Promotions in Dr. Macdonald’s office:

If you’re thinking about sprucing up your post-summer skin this fall before the holidays, I definitely recommend you take advantage of Dr. Macdonald’s medical aesthetics experts and the $500 Light Chemical Peel 5-series package (savings of 33%!), that I’ve mentioned here in previous posts.

It runs October through November and includes a complimentary post-healing care kit and 15% discount off the TiSilc sunscreen I love!

You can click here to send an inquiry about scheduling.

© 2010 R.E.L. Copywriting. All rights reserved.

17 thoughts on “Light Chemical Peel Series Completed: Results + Lessons

  1. alishaggrace2011 says:

    A chemical skin peel involves the application of a solution to the entire face or to specific areas to peel away the skin’s top layers. Our plastic surgery message boards are for all of us who want to talk for that visit
    http://www.plasticsurgeryadvisor.net/chemica_peel.html

    • Thank you for your comments and pointing me to your advice on chemical peels. I have learned a lot going through this process as a patient, documenting all of my findings. I did find it an interesting experience because I knew nothing about chemical peels from the start, so I asked tons of questions as I saw them happening to me in real time. I’m not sure if you got the chance to read all of the posts in my experience, but since you seem interested in this topic, you may want to. Just search on Category “chemical peel” and start at the bottom… Enjoy 🙂

  2. […] through a 5-series PCA chemical peel, I now know that my skin is in wonderful shape. As stated in my previous post at the end of my 5 series peel, I am happy with all the […]

  3. Fox News made an important point in relation to recently.

  4. Fashion says:

    Great article. I will certainly share this post with my colleagues. Thank you for the 411.

  5. va home loan says:

    Great posts. I will come back to this blog on the regular.

  6. […] Patients of Dr. Michael Macdonald Chemical Peel hqra, pca peel, skin clarity, skin health Leave a comment It’s been 3 months since my final PCA chemical peel in a series of 5. […]

  7. […] only do I have brown spots on my face (as we’ve seen in my facial chemical peel story (which ended with this post), I have them on my hands too, as we’ve seen in part with my laser […]

  8. […] Light Chemical Peel Series Completed: Results + Lessons … […]

  9. […] summer I did 5-series PCA peel through Dr. Macdonald’s office. My results were a better complexion, smoother skin, fine wrinkle line reduction, and less […]

I welcome your comments